Don’t touch it

Being on computers since…. Well, a long time, yes even before Gopher existed (the grandfather of Google, yahoo, etc.) I know, I know I am an ancient soul. Even before the web and, when telnet was the most advanced “communication tool”, I have been observing the same pattern.

One of the first things I do when someone calls me hysterical at 3 am asking for help because their computer is broken is to ask them: What did you installed before that happened?

Usually their answer is “That a friend who know everything about computers, installed a program or modified something in the operating system”.

The number one rule in computer science is: “If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. There’s nothing more dangerous than tinkering with a perfectly good and fully-functional computer.”

Well in the same way I have seen people tampering with their minds and that is even more difficult to repair. (So please, don’t call me at 3 am to ask me what to do when you have changed your “good beliefs” instead of the bad ones.)

If you are having an area in your life where you are getting the results you have always wanted, then you DON’T need to change what you are doing there.  Everybody wants to get the newest operating system for their computers, then once they install it, they find out that all their hardware isn’t yet compatible with the new OS.  And some of their peripherals will never be. So they will end up with many printers, scanners, joysticks, etc., stored in their basements for ever.

Well same with your life. If there is something you don’t like in your life, work on it, but if you are enjoying your life now, don’t try to make it even better by making radical changes in your mind.  I know it sounds logical and silly to you, but it happens to all of us more often than you think.

To keep reading this article and more click here

10 thoughts on “Don’t touch it

  1. Wonderful post. I agree that the analogy is perfect, and it struck home – I’m one of those people who panics every time I download a program because invariably something goes wrong and I have to spend a day backtracking. I think we live in a culture that fosters discontent, an outward desire for more, more, more. The mindless engine of profit and capitalism. Stepping back, looking honestly at values, and discerning the core messages in discontentment set the stage for meaningful change. There can be great joy, love, and peace in an ordinary life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Friend. Although I am leaving Pearls, my blog behind soon. I wish to still follow your blog. Thank you for being part of my faithful Core<3 I love this: "If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it." 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for being here and for following and reading my blog, It means a lot to me! Thank you always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

