Reappearance

I was so happy and surprised to see him. He had changed so much after all these years. He looks now in a better shape, healthier and much happier.

The truth is that I couldn’t have recognised him, but he recognised me and I was so happy that he did.

Few years ago, in that street, I used to see a homeless man who asked me for some coins “to have breakfast”. He said his name was Johnny and usually I gave him some change I had left, other times I shared some of the food I had with me.

I found him almost everyday in the same spot, until one day he disappeared. I got worried for him and after sometime I forgot about him, but sometimes, when I passed near the place where he usually stood asking for money, I always wondered what had happened to that man.

He had good manners and the way he spoked showed he had received some level of education, sometimes he commented on a book I had in my hand at that moment and he was an avid listener of my radio program. So he always had something to say about it.

But what was his story? What happened to him so he ended up living in the street? What had happened to this man to forget who he really was and abandon himself to this point?

That will always be a mystery for me. But I liked him, he was a nice person and it hurt my heart to see him like that.

But suddenly, after all these years of absence, this well-dressed man approached me and greeted me very enthusiastically.

He looked familiar, but to tell you the truth, I couldn’t remember who he was, until he noticed my confusion and warmly said: “Sorry, I am Johnny, I just wanted to thank you for all those times when you didn’t turn me down, you never ignored me and always share your food or shared some coins with me, with your sincere smile. I just wanted to say thank you.” He gave me a hug and left.

If you want to read more of this article and similar ones. Click here

2 thoughts on “Reappearance

Leave a Reply

