Power

“Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t.” 
― 
Margaret Thatcher

I have known good people who fight their whole life to reach a high place, whether in a company, the government, financial status, fame, etc.

Once they reach their goal and finally they have a little more power than usual, their personality suffer a dramatic shift and they no longer are the same person I once met.

Is it just me or nowadays we find “bosses” everywhere who are more concern on exercise their power on others than in getting good results for their company/institution/country etc?

I have seen lately an increment in the number of “bosses” who are more interested in “showing off” how authoritarian they are, how their slaves, sorry I meant subalterns, fear and obey them and how “tough” they look giving orders all the time.

I actually met once a person who didn´t agree with letting her employees work from home, just because she wasn´t able to exercise her power on their subordinates. “But they are getting the results your company needs” I argued. But she always answered: “What´s the point of being a boss, if I cannot show them who´s got the power around here?”

Yes, I felt so sorry for her too, but I am seeing that problem generalised everywhere.

We already have got “too many bosses and not enough Indians” Why do we have that stupid need to exhibit our power over others in such childish manner?

We don´t need that kind of bosses, we need leaders who inspire others to be the best versions of themselves, who teach through their own example and who are able to show us practically how to use a mop and a broom, before the demand us to do that job for them.

Any fool, and I mean ANY fool can shout, can use rude words, can get drunk and can humiliate others.

If you want to read more of this article and similar ones. Click here

7 thoughts on “Power

  1. Great post 🙂
    I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award – you can check my post out at https://twentysomethingrecluse.wordpress.com/2015/10/11/one-lovely-blog-award/. I nominated you because I love reading your blog and I’d love to find out more about you. Don’t worry if you don’t have the time to do the post yourself – I mostly wanted to let you know I love reading your posts! Have a great day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve worked for and with people not fit to walk the earth. I’m sorry if that sounds a bit harsh but it’s true. I’ve never looked down on someone, i.e., their social standing or where they might fall on the corporate ladder. Excellent post… and I hope some BAD BOSSE(S) read this and think twice how they treat their subordinates. ~Bridgette

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

