There is still time

I am impressed of the way young people are limiting themselves nowadays.  Yes, I know I sound like a bitter old man now, but I cannot understand why people are allowing others to control their minds and destinies.

I have been working with young people who have just finished their careers and most of them, are finding out that having a degree in your hands do not automatically make you capable to handle all things before you.

Finishing a career really means that you are ready to begin your journey in that subject but you are really beginning to learn what you will need ahead in your path.  Having a degree means you have learnt the basics but what really matters and is really important for your progress, life will teach you later on the way.

The young generations are now so “self-limited” and when they cannot accomplish something fast, they just convince themselves that they are not capable to do it and then quit. They get discouraged so easily, it scares me.

In their 20s-30s they believe they will not have more time to try and do other things. They believe they know everything and when life shows them how wrong they are, they just don´t know how to react anymore.

What is going on with them? I have met people in their 70s-80s still trying to learn new things, beginning new activities, hobbies, even business and doing it with all their heart and having lots of fun in the process.

But on the other side, I have seen young people wasting their time by following careers or business that are not for them, because they do not feel happy following those forced paths (imposed sometimes by their families, friends or society) and hating their jobs and lives at the same time.

If you are now in a job you hate, with people you do not get along with and suffering to get up your bed every morning then, you are on the wrong track.

Life is too short to suffer it every day. Find your passion and follow your dreams even if that means leaving things, people and situations behind. It might sound terrifying now, but once you are there, you will feel the happiest human on this Earth.

If you want to read the rest of this article and similar material click Here

4 thoughts on “There is still time

  1. A job one dislikes is a heavy burden, but if you love your work then it’s all sufferable. I worked with people I had nothing in common with, so social relationships at work weren’t blooming nor rotting, but the work I loved made life beautiful. I do the same now, a job I love, but challenges are great. Very good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post made me laugh a little, Hector, not that I don’t agree. I wonder what my parents/grandparents thought of my generation. It reminded me of this quote:

    “The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they allow disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children now are tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannize their teachers.”
    This quote was attributed to Socrates by Plato. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

