The pain in change

Have you noticed that when facing new circumstances, new situations like a new job, moving to a new house, a new relationship, etc. We react in many different ways?

Fear is the first feeling to jump into our heart. And sometimes that fear is the main reason because we reject change so much.

And it is understandable since change could be a very traumatic experience at first.

I remember when I was a child to be afraid of jumping into a swimming pool because my memory of the first contact with water at a different temperature was not very enjoyable.  It took me a long time to slowly crawl into the pool and it was not a very pleasant event.

Of course once this “traumatic” experience was passed it was almost impossible to take me out of the pool, but to “convince” me to dive into it first thing in the morning was a very difficult task.

My mind associated that getting into the water, that change of corporal temperature with “pain”. Not that it was really painful in anyway, but to me it was a “painful” experience.  I compared that sensation of a sudden change in temperature with the pain in a fall or some others painful experiences.

It took me some time to realised that if I just “speeded up” the process the joy was nearer! So instead of entering the pool little by little I just closed my eyes and jumped in. Yes, that is what everybody is supposed to do but it took me sometime to achieve it in my particular case.

But this simple happening, taught me a very interesting and important lesson after all these years.

My idea of “pain” was not a result of the sensation of the sudden change in temperature in my body. My association with “pain” was the result of my fear to that change, to experience that resistance to that sudden change.  To go through a “long process” of change in my body´s temperature.

Now I am making this sound too complicated, right?

But the whole idea is much simpler.  And now I have applied this concept to other “phobias” in my life.

Every time I am afraid or resisting change I keep remembering that change is not painful per se. The more resistance I put up to face change, the more “painful” I will imagine it to be.

So nowadays I do my best not to resist change, on the contrary, I try to speed it up once I found myself trying to avoid it.

After all, the memories of playing in the pool will always be stronger than the memories of my fear of diving into it!

With this analogy I found it easier this time to face changes in general. And I must admit that most times I found change very pleasant and now I see it as a very important process of growing.

So get ready to plunge into the swimming pool of life where you will find a myriad of new pleasures to discover once you decide to embrace change and make it a part of you.

Happy swimming!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

