Life lessons

 

Many people refer to their life experiences as “lessons from the University of Life”. Meaning that life itself is an abundant source of knowledge, experiences and very valuable lessons. Probably the best lessons in life are absolutely free. Or maybe not so “free” because the price we have to pay to receive them and learn from them is having to experience them in our life and that sometimes, is a very high price to pay.

Today I am feeling especially grateful for all my life lessons, I am fortunate to say I have experienced some very difficult ones from the best teachers in the universe: my “problems” and “hard times” have been excellent teachers and I am so grateful for them. Besides I have and still am learning from other people who have been kind enough to share their experiences with me and others who I have been able to observe from the distance as well.

Probably you haven’t experienced hunger, not the kind of sensation you feel when you haven’t eaten for a few hours, but I mean when you have nothing to eat at home and no money to get something for you and your family.

I remember the feeling when you pass in front of a restaurant and the smell of food reaches you making you dizzy and desperate. You need to hold your breath and walk faster in order not to succumb right there.  In some way now I can recognise the “look” in the eyes of people who are going through that same situation, and even if they don’t say anything, that particular “look” in their eyes give them away, and as I have been there I am able to recognise them now giving me an opportunity to offer them some help.

A few months ago I had a little problem in my left foot, I couldn’t walk very fast, since the pain was very hard so I had to slow down a lot, compared to the high speed I am used to walk every day. I had to “re-learn” for a while how to walk in a busy street and that taught me different interesting lessons.  I was walking so slow that even old people with canes walked faster than me.  I wasn’t aware how people pushes you and insults you when you “are on their way” since everybody is in a hurry these days.  So you become nothing but an “obstacle” to them and they just push you around without any consideration to your illness. Even drivers keep insulting you if you are not able to cross the street before the green light turns on and they have to wait for an extra second for you to get to the other side.

Now I try to put myself in the other people’s shoes before judging or acting and the results have been amazing. But in some way I know that going through those experiences myself, made me more human and now I can really understand what another person is feeling from within the other person’s frame of reference. And that is called: Empathy.

Be grateful for your own lessons, be grateful that now you are stronger and more sensitive to other people’s feelings and thanks to those “life lessons” you are closer to remember who you really are.

Learn your lessons and pass your tests and be grateful for still being part of this big Family of the “University of Life.”

From my book: Awakening I

Awakening: Volume I (Awakenings Book 1) by [Sampson, Hector , Sampson, Hector]

 

Leave a Reply

