Darkness

 

Watching him eating so fast was a disgusting view.  It seemed as if he thought the world was coming to an end and he should finish his meal in advance.

I was just in the middle of the first course, when he was finishing his last. I was surprised, and at the same time a little displeased since he was not really enjoying his food.  I remained silent as he was excusing himself from the table and rushed out of the restaurant without even waiting for my answer.

I was in “judging mode” so, I thought he should learn to take more time for him to enjoy his food besides, it is unhealthy, and in some cases even dangerous to eat too fast.

I finished my meal at my own pace, and my other friend and I left the place talking about more relevant subjects.

Before going to bed I was feeling a minor stomach ache and I just could not understand where it had come from.   Was it something I ate?

The pain got worst and I had a bad night.

Next morning, I met with my two friends once more and I told them about my painful night. One of them, the one who stayed with me, not the one who had finish his meal first, told me: “Well, obviously you felt bad because you ate too fast!”

I look at him perplexed for a little while.

“But our other friend finished much faster, I did not eat fast, you and I finished our meal at the same time”! I replied a little annoyed.

“Yes, but our friend had a two-course meal, and you arrived 15 minutes later, we began earlier than you, that is why.” He told me.

I felt bad about it.  I had criticised my other friend for the way he ate when I was incurring in the same fault.

Immediately that old saying came to my mind:

“Knowing your own darkness is the best method for dealing with the darkness of other people” – Carl Jung.

How many times do we find defects in others just to find out we are not really seeing the fault in the exterior, but just reflecting what lies within us?

That incident left me a great lesson.  We love to criticise and attack others just to realise that we are actually criticising and attacking our own flaws.

Maybe next time, instead of trying to take advantage of what I consider a mistake in someone else, I should check my own behaviour to make the necessary changes, and keep in silences afterwards.

 

 

Leave a Reply

