Your strength is…

 

She felt really down that morning. She had been trying to be strong for too long and that takes a lot of effort. Her strength was beginning to fade away and the despair was more than evident in her eyes.

She looked at me with the saddest eyes I have ever seen in my life.  Her voice projected her inner state and after saying hello in a taciturn voice, she told me that she felt she could not bear it anymore.

Life had treated her unkindly and she has been going through a difficult period in all areas of her life.

She knew quite well, that she needed to change her attitude, thoughts and feelings so she could jump back on her feet once more.  But this time she felt that was just too much for her to accomplish.

She asked me to give her just one aspect of her that could give her hope for the future.

“Tell me just one thing to make me feel strong once more” She said with a desperate voice.

“You are your strength” I answered.

“Nobody else can handle adversity as you do. Nobody else can smile during the hard times as you do. Nobody else can solve the problems, the same way you have been doing it all along.” I continued.

“You have overcome things that others saw as impossible. You have survived situations others would have perished in the first attempt”.

“Nobody else have your knowledge, your life experience, your stamina, your wit, your temper, your beliefs, your ideas and your inner power.”

“You have learnt things other people still ignore, you have lived situations other people have never heard of, you have deciphered life puzzles that most of us haven´t been able to imagine.”

“And this time you are telling me that you do not know how to go about your life anymore?”

She looked at me in silence for a while and with a broken voice she said: “I know, but all I need now is to know that this time too, everything will be alright.”

“You will be alright, as long as you keep that idea in your heart.”

She tried to smile and left.

Some weeks after that conversation, I saw her on the street, we were both in a hurry but her eyes were bright and happy as usual, she waved back at me with a wonderful smile. I was not able to talk to her and ask her how things were now, but her looks said everything to me.

We all feel abandoned and lost many times during our lives, but you are still here and things are getting better now, even if you haven´t notice it yet.

Just remember: “Your main superpower is being you. And that will be always more than enough.”

 

 

5 thoughts on “Your strength is…

Leave a Reply

