Continuum

“Our main problem here is that we allow our mind to wander free when we need it to be focused and to focus on the things we should release.” The Lama said.

“We need to discipline our mind to avoid being dominated by the continuum…” He continued.

“And what is the continuum?” I asked, abruptly interrupting him.

He looked at me with a smile and answered: “What we call continuum, are those thoughts that seem to never leave our mind. Those sounds and memories that keep repeating as a broken old record in our mind without control”.

“It is like a song you listen on the radio once, the rhythm is catchy, you like it, and suddenly, you find yourself singing it without being conscious of it.  After a few hours and even days later, your mind keeps repeating a small portion of the song until you become conscious of this constant repetition.”

“The same happens with certain sentences or lines you hear in movies, TV, from friends, etc.”

“All that energy keeps your mind busy the whole day.  The problem is that some old and negative thoughts, ideas and feelings are trapped by your mind, forming a continuum that becomes very difficult to get rid of, forming a very negative mentality and creating many problems in your mind. “

“Then you ask yourself why bad things appear in your life.”

I remained silent for a few minutes and then asked him: “Can we do something about it? Can we really change that continuum? Can we program our own content?  Can we create a permanent continuum in our head at will?”

He laughed loudly and added: “Of course you can, actually you must, if you want to change your life and create a better present for yourself and all sentient beings.”

I remained in silence for a while. He was right. I was still struggling to stop repeating a jingle I heard on the radio a few days back and the more I tried to stop it, the more my mind kept repeating in the least expected moment.

Norman Vincent Peal said that motivation is like a flower, you need to water it every day to keep it from dying.

I am sharing in these chapters my thoughts and life experiences with the hope I can change my inner continuum, by reminding me of those lessons that have shaped my present mindset.

I hope you find something useful in them and maybe they could give you some ideas to create a better continuum for yourself.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for coming with me in this inner quest.

May the Light be with you always.

Hector Sampson

Get my new book: Continuum here

 

 

4 thoughts on “Continuum

Leave a Reply

